Time to lose weight.

Find medical, health and fitness related resources in Taiwan. Discussions on wide ranging issues from basic health questions to fitness training and diet through to major surgery.

Moderator: jimipresley

Re: Time to lose weight.

Postby Icon » Mon Aug 07, 2017 16:00

Toad wrote:
Icon wrote:Doctor Toad, I am worried about my gallstones. They could potentially cause another emergency trip to the surgery. Any research that can help me on this matter?

Sorry, I tend to read around issues that affect fitness and body shape because that's what I do for a living. Gallstones just aren't my thing. Only thing I know about them - because my mum has them - is that once they're there, they're there. Up to a point you can prevent them getting bigger, but AFAIK there is no way to erode them.

Icon wrote:And why do we furriners tend to suffer from fatty liver?

While there is a genetic component, this is almost entirely due to excessive sugar and starches. The research is as close to consensus as you can get on that issue. 'Excessive', of course, depends on the individual. Some people can eat half a cheesecake every day and get away with it. Some people turn instantly to flab if they have a cup of sweet tea.

I'm not sure what they've got you eating at the moment, but if your body is depositing fat in your liver and around your internal organs, it's basically because it's run out of other places to put it. Exception: the metabolic pathway for fructose is more likely to end up with deposition of fat in the liver regardless, as opposed to subcutaneous fat. The combination of symptoms you describe is classic Metabolic Syndrome.